Annual Reading Wrap-up: Books Read in 2013

2 Jan

As always, my list of books read cover-to-cover from the previous year. If I also listed the books I’ve read parts of (or not completely) we’d all be here for awhile. I ended up reading the same number of books as 2012 (23). And again, far less than the 36 I read in 2011. My goal for 2014 is to read at least 30 books — not too difficult, as long as I don’t get distracted. 

This year I decided to see how many young adult and middle grade (MG/YA) books I read (13) — or over half my list. This makes sense since I was focusing on YA most extensively because I’m writing in that genre at the moment. 

Considering the total number of books I read, my non-fiction numbers were average (6). I am a big fan of non-fiction and read a number of them, but clearly not cover-to-cover. Out of my thirty book goal for this year, I’d like at least 7 to be non-fiction novels (one more than this year).

The category with the fewest number of books is adult fiction. I would like to increase those numbers a bit this year. Then again, categories can be confusing. Eleanor and Park, for instance, was marketed as adult in Australia, but young adult here. Same with The Book Thief. I only read three adult novels (not counting the previous two I just mentioned).

So without further ado, here are the books I read: 

  1. Ship Breaker (YA) – Paolo Bacigalupi
  2. How to Become a Famous Writer Before You’re Dead – Ariel Gore
  3. Miss Lonelyhearts – Nathaniel West
  4. One – Dan Zadra & Kobi Yamada (re-read)
  5. Being Peace – Thich Nhat Hanh (re-read)
  6. the education of jay baker (YA) – Jay Clark
  7. Proxy (YA) – Alex London
  8. Being Henry David (YA) – Cal Armistead
  9. How to Be Good – Nick Hornby
  10. Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe (YA) – Benjamin Alire Saenz  (re-read)
  11. Dr. Bird’s Advice to Sad Poets (YA) – Evan Roskos
  12. Refuse to Choose – Barbara Sher
  13. So Hard to Say (YA) – Alex Sanchez
  14. The Hunt (YA) – Andrew Fukuda
  15. Raven Girl (MG/YA?) – Audrey Niffenegger
  16. Eleanor and Park (YA) – Rainbow Rowell
  17. two boys kissing (YA) – David Levithan
  18. Heft – Liz Moore
  19. The Book Whisperer – Donalyn Miller
  20. The Book Thief (YA) – Markus Zusak (re-read)
  21. The Night Gardener (MG) – Jonathan Auxier
  22. Drama High – Michael Sokolove
  23. Making the American Body – Jonathan Black

How many did  you read?

Leave a Reply

